AH

2022 Read List

5 Books | by Amy Hyden

The Family Across the Street

The Family Across the Street

Books

‘OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!!… The most heart-racing book I’ve read in a long time, if not ever!!! It had me hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!!… Clear your day because it is truly unputdownable… What an absolute twist!!!… If you read one book in your life, make sure it is this!!!!’ Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Sometimes, the most perfect families are hiding the most terrible secrets. How well do you know the people next door…? Everybody wants to live on Hogarth Street, the pretty, tree-lined avenue with its white houses. The new family, The Wests, are a perfect fit. Katherine and John seem so in love and their gorgeous five-year-old twins race screeching around their beautiful emerald-green lawn. But soon people start to notice: why don’t they join backyard barbecues? Why do they brush away offers to babysit? Why, when you knock at the door, do they shut you out, rather than inviting you in? Every family has secrets, and on the hottest day of the year, the truth is about to come out. As a tragedy unfolds behind closed doors, the dawn chorus is split by the wail of sirens. And one by one the families who tried so hard to welcome the Wests begin to realise: Hogarth Street will never be the same again. A completely gripping, twist-packed psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell.Readers love The Family Across the Street:‘Wow!!! Wow!!! Wow!!! A total page-turner and will keep you guessing with every page. Halfway through I thought I had figured it out and then BAM! The ending floored me.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Omg! Omg!... My son came in and asked me who I was yelling at?! (I was yelling at my e-reader). I think my heart beat out of my chest… The suspense was killing me! LOL my heart is still beating crazy!…OK I have to go now I need a big glass of wine to calm down!’ Ana's Attic Guest Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Oh my GOSH!!!!!! I read this emotionally charged, compelling book in one sitting. Whoa, my emotions are ALL over the place!!! You thought you knew what was going on and then BAM nothing what you thought was happening! I’ve never been soooooo engrossed in a book from the first pages. Amazing, emotional and just Wow!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Oh wow, absolutely triple wow. Absolutely amazing.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This is how you do thrillers. OMG, this story was amazing… Edge-of-your-seat-nail-biting read.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I’m writing this review with tears streaming down my face!! What a BRILLIANT book… I was on edge every single second… At one point I realized my body was literally tensed up in anticipation.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Utterly blew my mind.’ Priyanka’s Book Gallery, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I was absolutely hooked!!…Totally engrossed!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Simply brilliant… Almost gave me an aneurysm in my attempt to finish it.’ @rk_reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Absolutely amazing!… So so good with so many twists and surprises. I could not put it down and read it in 24 hours!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘The story totally sucked me in and I was hooked! I love it when a book that does that to me… To the point to where I don’t want to adult at all!!! This was that type of book!… Will blow your damn mind!’ @oh.happy.reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘After reading this book I realise I use the phrase “page-turner” too much, because THIS was a true PAGE TURNER. I read it in one sitting.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Wow, I loved this one so much…. A whole box of tissues were gone in just a few hours. It was so intense that I was sitting at the edge of my seat the whole time. I couldn’t put this one down for the life of me. No bathroom breaks at all.’ Blue Moon Blogger, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘The first book I have ever read in a day… I just couldn’t put it down. It really is one of those books that you think just a few more pages, just a few more pages, just another chapter.’ The Reviewers, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Crying in H Mart

Crying in H Mart

Books

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR - NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER - From the indie rockstar of Japanese Breakfast fame, one of TIME's Most Influential People of 2022, and author of the viral 2018 New Yorker essay that shares the title of this book, an unflinching, powerful memoir about growing up Korean American, losing her mother, and forging her own identity.In this exquisite story of family, food, grief, and endurance, Michelle Zauner proves herself far more than a dazzling singer, songwriter, and guitarist. With humor and heart, she tells of growing up one of the few Asian American kids at her school in Eugene, Oregon; of struggling with her mother's particular, high expectations of her; of a painful adolescence; of treasured months spent in her grandmother's tiny apartment in Seoul, where she and her mother would bond, late at night, over heaping plates of food. As she grew up, moving to the East Coast for college, finding work in the restaurant industry, and performing gigs with her fledgling band--and meeting the man who would become her husband--her Koreanness began to feel ever more distant, even as she found the life she wanted to live. It was her mother's diagnosis of terminal cancer, when Michelle was twenty-five, that forced a reckoning with her identity and brought her to reclaim the gifts of taste, language, and history her mother had given her. Vivacious and plainspoken, lyrical and honest, Zauner's voice is as radiantly alive on the page as it is onstage. Rich with intimate anecdotes that will resonate widely, and complete with family photos, Crying in H Mart is a book to cherish, share, and reread.

Just Like Home

Just Like Home

Books

Just Like Home is a darkly gothic thriller from nationally bestselling author Sarah Gailey, perfect for fans of Netflix's The Haunting of Hill House as well as HBO's true crime masterpiece I'll Be Gone in the Dark. “Come home.” Vera’s mother called and Vera obeyed. In spite of their long estrangement, in spite of the memories — she's come back to the home of a serial killer. Back to face the love she had for her father and the bodies he buried there, beneath the house he'd built for his family. Coming home is hard enough for Vera, and to make things worse, she and her mother aren’t alone. A parasitic artist has moved into the guest house out back and is slowly stripping Vera’s childhood for spare parts. He insists that he isn’t the one leaving notes around the house in her father’s handwriting... but who else could it possibly be? There are secrets yet undiscovered in the foundations of the notorious Crowder House. Vera must face them and find out for herself just how deep the rot goes. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Bitter Orange

Bitter Orange

Books

An NPR Best Book of the Year "Unsettling and eerie, Bitter Orange is an ideal chiller." —Time Magazine  From the author of Our Endless Numbered Days and Swimming Lessons, Bitter Orange is a seductive psychological portrait, a keyhole into the dangers of longing and how far a woman might go to escape her past.   From the attic of Lyntons, a dilapidated English country mansion, Frances Jellico sees them—Cara first: dark and beautiful, then Peter: striking and serious. The couple is spending the summer of 1969 in the rooms below hers while Frances is researching the architecture in the surrounding gardens. But she’s distracted. Beneath a floorboard in her bathroom, she finds a peephole that gives her access to her neighbors' private lives. To Frances’s surprise, Cara and Peter are keen to get to know her. It is the first occasion she has had anybody to call a friend, and before long they are spending every day together: eating lavish dinners, drinking bottle after bottle of wine, and smoking cigarettes until the ash piles up on the crumbling furniture. Frances is dazzled. But as the hot summer rolls lazily on, it becomes clear that not everything is right between Cara and Peter. The stories that Cara tells don’t quite add up, and as Frances becomes increasingly entangled in the lives of the glamorous, hedonistic couple, the boundaries between truth and lies, right and wrong, begin to blur. Amid the decadence, a small crime brings on a bigger one: a crime so terrible that it will brand their lives forever.

The House Across the Lake

The House Across the Lake

Books

THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW meets GONE GIRL in the upcoming sixth thriller by New York Times bestselling author Riley Sager.

Scroll to top