Likewise's profile image

Best New YA Books Hitting Shelves in September

5 Books | by Likewise User verified icon

Check out the most anticipated #YA books coming out this September!

Never Saw You Coming

Never Saw You Coming

Books

"BOLD. IMPORTANT. BEAUTIFUL.” - Laura Taylor Namey, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and TomorrowIn Erin Hahn’s Never Saw You Coming, sometimes it takes a leap of faith to find yourself.Eighteen-year-old Meg Hennessey just found out her entire childhood was a lie. So instead of taking a gap year before college to find herself, she ends up traveling north to meet what’s left of the family she never knew existed - all while questioning the ideals she grew up with.While there, she meets Micah Allen, a former pastor’s kid whose dad ended up in prison, leaving Micah with his own complicated relationship with faith. The clock is ticking on his probation hearing and Micah, now 19, feels the pressure to forgive - even when he can’t possibly forget.As Meg and Micah grow closer, they are confronted with the heavy flutterings of first love and all the complications it brings. Together, they must navigate the sometimes-painful process of cutting ties with childhood beliefs as they build toward something truer and straight from the heart."Heartfelt and utterly genuine... I already want to reread it." - Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of Small Favors

Act Cool

Act Cool

Books

*Named a Rainbow Book List Title and one of Bank Street Children's Best Books of the Year*A trans teen walks the fine line between doing whatever it takes for his acting dream and staying true to himself in this moving, thought-provoking YA novel from the acclaimed author of Stay Gold.Aspiring actor August Greene just landed a coveted spot at the prestigious School of Performing Arts in New York. There’s only one problem: His conservative parents won’t accept that he’s transgender. And to stay with his aunt in the city, August must promise them he won’t transition.August is convinced he can play the part his parents want while acting cool and confident in the company of his talented new friends.But who is August when the lights go down? And where will he turn when the roles start hitting a little too close to home?

We Can Be Heroes

We Can Be Heroes

Books

Kyrie McCauley, author of the William C. Morris YA Debut Award winner If These Wings Could Fly, delivers a powerful contemporary YA novel about the lasting bonds of friendship and three girls fighting for each other in the aftermath of a school shooting. Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby and Mindy McGinnis.Beck and Vivian never could stand each other, but they always tried their best for their mutual friend, Cassie. After the town moves on from Cassie’s murder too fast, Beck and Vivian finally find common ground: vengeance.They memorialize Cassie by secretly painting murals of her around town, a message to the world that Cassie won’t be forgotten. But Beck and Vivian are keeping secrets, like the third passenger riding in Beck’s VW bus with them—Cassie’s ghost. When their murals catch the attention of a podcaster covering Cassie’s case, they become the catalyst for a debate that Bell Firearms can no longer ignore. With law enforcement closing in on them, Beck and Vivian hurry to give Cassie the closure she needs—by delivering justice to those responsible for her death.

Tides of Mutiny

Tides of Mutiny

Books

Lane Garrow has a secret—one that could get her killed.In a world where female sailors are executed, sixteen-year-old Lane's dream of being a ship's captain seems impossible. Sea life is all she knows, and she wouldn't give it up for anything, even if it means she has to hide as a captain's boy to avoid being killed. But Lane's carefully constructed world begins to crumble when an old pirate enemy comes after her father. And she begins hearing rumors that her father was once a pirate as well.Lane doesn't want to believe her father could have a dark past, but she can't help questioning everything she's known. After all, Lane's life at sea is built on lies—why couldn't her father's be, too?Then a mysterious prince shows up, and Lane finds her very survival tied to a boy who could destroy everything. With pirates, betrayal, and death threatening Lane and those she loves, she must now decide between the future she always expected and a prince with an unknown agenda who she finds herself falling for. Lane must either protect herself and find a way to live her dream, or risk everything for a world where her very existence is a death sentence.Maybe there's a third option. After all, she's never played by the rules before. Why start now?

The Hawthorne Legacy

The Hawthorne Legacy

Books

'Barnes is a master of puzzles and plot twists' E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the global bestselling The Inheritance Games. Perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.A DEADLY GAME. A PUZZLE TO SOLVE. A FORTUNE AT STAKE. One step forward. Avery thought that solving the riddle left by billionaire Tobias Hawthorne would reveal why he left her - a complete stranger - his entire fortune. Two steps back. But as the cryptic clues tale an unexpected twist and the handsome and enigmatic Hawthorne grandsons continue to pull her in different directions, Avery can't help but wonder who she can really trust and who is just looking out for themselves. What happens when the truth just hides more secrets? Soon Avery realizes this game is no longer just about money and power. Now she's playing for her life. 'Impossible to put down' Buzzfeed DON'T MISS THE FINAL GAMBIT - THE EXPLOSIVE CONCLUSION TO THE INHERITANCE GAMES SERIES - COMING AUGUST 2022!

Scroll to top