Gabrielle's profile image

Cozy mysteries

5 Books | by Gabrielle Charlton

Strawberry Shortcake Murder

Strawberry Shortcake Murder

Books

From the New York Times-bestselling author of Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder, “another delicious adventure…a superior cozy sure to leave readers satisfied.”—Publishers Weekly When the president of Hartland Flour chooses cozy Lake Eden, Minnesota, as the spot for their first annual Dessert Bake-Off, bakery owner Hannah Swensen is thrilled to serve as the head judge. But when a fellow judge, Coach Boyd Watson, is found stone-cold dead, facedown in Hannah’s celebrated strawberry shortcake, Lake Eden’s sweet ride to fame turns very sour indeed. While perfecting her Cheddar Cheese Apple Pie and Chocolate Crunchies, Hannah’s also snooping into the coach’s private life, which yields plenty of suspects. Or could Watson’s harsh criticism during the judging have lethally ticked off one of the contestants? The stakes are rising faster than dough, because somebody’s cooking up a recipe for murder—with Hannah landing on the “necessary ingredients” list.Includes seven delicious recipes!   “The crime novelist Joanne Fluke has come up with a winning formula…think of a luscious dessert, then add death.”—The New York Times

To Catch a Leaf

To Catch a Leaf

Books

Flower shop owner Abby Knight is aglow with happiness now that she's officially engaged to her longtime beau, Marco Salvare. Nothing can possibly dampen her joy-until wealthy dowager Virginia Newport is killed, and Abby's assistant Grace Bingham is the prime suspect. The plot thickens when they stumble upon mysterious stolen art and a missing cat, all part of an elaborate heist. Before Abby can throw her bouquet, she'll have to save her friend and throw a killer and a thief in jail...

Blueberry Muffin Murder

Blueberry Muffin Murder

Books

A visiting celebrity baker is cut down in the kitchen in the New York Times-bestselling series: “A delightful confection.”—Library Journal   Preparations are under way for Lake Eden, Minnesota’s annual Winter Carnival—and Hannah Swensen will be extra busy at her shop, The Cookie Jar. Too bad the honor of creating the official Winter Carnival cake went to famous lifestyle maven Connie Mac—a half-baked idea, in Hannah's opinion. She suspects Connie Mac’s sweet cable-TV image is a cover for something more bitter. Hannah’s suspicions are confirmed when Connie Mac’s limo rolls into town. Turns out America’s “Cooking Sweetheart” is bossy, bad-tempered, and downright domineering. Things finally boil over when Hannah arrives at The Cookie Jar to find the Winter Carnival cake destroyed—and Connie Mac lying dead in her pantry, struck down while eating one of Hannah’s famous blueberry muffins. Next thing Hannah knows, the police have declared The Cookie Jar’s kitchen crime scene off-limits. She’s a baker without an oven—and the Carnival is right around the corner. Her only alternative is to cook up a plan to save her business—by finding the killer herself…Includes seven original cookie and dessert recipes for you to try!   “Delicious food descriptions and recipes, warm and familiar characters who grow into real people…a vivid picture of the small lake town and a well-crafted mystery provide the ingredients for yet another tempting feast that should satisfy all fans, old and new.”—Publishers Weekly

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder

Books

First in the New York Times-bestselling mystery series: “A cleverly plotted cozy full of appealing characters and delicious cookie recipes.”—Publishers Weekly Take one amateur sleuth. Mix in some eccentric Minnesota locals. Add a generous dollop of crackling suspense, and you've got the recipe for this mystery series featuring Hannah Swensen, the red-haired, cookie-baking heroine whose gingersnaps are almost as tart as her comments and whose penchant for solving crime is definitely stirring things up. While dodging her mother’s attempts to marry her off, Hannah runs The Cookie Jar, Lake Eden’s most popular bakery. But after Ron LaSalle, the beloved deliveryman from the Cozy Cow Dairy, is found murdered behind her bakery—with Hannah’s famous Chocolate Chip Crunchies scattered around him—she’s determined not to let her cookies get a bad reputation, so she sets out to track down a killer. But if she doesn’t watch her back, Hannah’s sweet life may get burned to a crisp. “Culinary cozies don’t get any tastier than this winning series.”—Library Journal

Red Velvet Cupcake Murder (Hannah Swensen Mysteries, Book 16)

Red Velvet Cupcake Murder (Hannah Swensen Mysteries, Book 16)

Books

With Hannah herself as prime suspect, how will she solve the crime this time? Red Velvet Cupcake Murder sees Hannah in a tricky position, as Joanne Fluke's cosy mystery puts the sleuth in the spotlight. Packed full of delicious recipes and perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Leslie Meier.'If your reading habits alternate between curling up with a good mystery or with a good cookbook, you ought to know about Joanne Fluke' - Charlotte ObserverIt's a hot summer's evening in Lake Eden, Minnesota - perfect for the Grand Opening of the refurbished Albion Hotel. Hannah Swensen's famous Red Velvet cupcakes are the talk of the night, until Doctor Bev, the woman who left town after two-timing her fiancé, turns up unexpectedly.Things go from bad to worse when another partygoer takes a dive off the hotel's rooftop garden. As the police investigate, Hannah is more preoccupied with Bev's attempts to stir things up with old flame Norman, who's since reunited with Hannah. When Bev is found dead at the bottom of Miller's Pond, things reach boiling point. To everyone's shock, Hannah is now the target of a murder investigation - and she's feeling the heat like never before... What readers are saying about Red Velvet Cupcake Murder: 'The delightful characters make every page a joy''Another fantastic mystery from Joanne Fluke. The books are easy to read and such a pleasure''Five stars'

Scroll to top