Rosalene🌸's profile image

My Favorite Mental Health Books

5 Books | by Rosalene🌸

The Bell Jar

The Bell Jar

Books

Esther Greenwood begins the summer with an internship at a popular women’s magazine, but her hopes for a career as a writer are dashed when she returns home to Massachusetts to discover she’s been rejected from a prestigious writing seminar. Listless and suffering from the onset of depression, Esther attempts suicide, and eventually finds herself in a variety of hospitals undergoing controversial electro-shock therapy.HarperPerennial Classics brings great works of literature to life in digital format, upholding the highest standards in ebook production and celebrating reading in all its forms. Look for more titles in the HarperPerennial Classics collection to build your digital library.

Looking For Alaska

Looking For Alaska

Books

A gorgeous collector's edition of the critically acclaimed debut novel by John Green, #1 bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down and The Fault in Our Stars A perfect gift for every fan, this deluxe hardcover features a stunning special edition jacket and 50 pages of all-new exclusive content, including: - An introduction by John Green - Extensive Q&A: John Green answers readers' most frequently asked questions - Deleted scenes from the original manuscript ★ Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award ★ A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist ★ A New York Times Bestseller * A USA Today Bestseller ★ NPR's Top Ten Best-Ever Teen Novels ★ TIME magazine's 100 Best Young Adult Novels of All Time ★ A PBS Great American Read Selection NOW A HULU ORIGINAL SERIES! Miles Halter is fascinated by famous last words--and tired of his safe life at home. He leaves for boarding school to seek what the dying poet Francois Rabelais called the "Great Perhaps." Much awaits Miles at Culver Creek, including Alaska Young, who will pull Miles into her labyrinth and catapult him into the Great Perhaps. Looking for Alaska brilliantly chronicles the indelible impact one life can have on another. A modern classic, this stunning debut marked #1 bestselling author John Green's arrival as a groundbreaking new voice in contemporary fiction.

Girl in Pieces

Girl in Pieces

Books

Fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places will love this New York Times bestseller."A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page."—Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you. Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge. A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.“Girl, Interrupted meets Speak.”—Refinery29   “A dark yet powerful read.”—Paste Magazine   “One of the most affecting novels we have read.”—Goop   “Breathtaking and beautifully written.”—Bustle  “Intimate and gritty.”—The Irish Times And don’t miss Kathleen Glasgow's newest novel How to Make Friends with the Dark, which Karen M. McManus, the New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying, calls "rare and powerful."

All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places

Books

NOW A NETFLIX FILM, STARRING ELLE FANNING AND JUSTICE SMITH! The New York Times bestselling love story about two teens who find each other while standing on the edge. And don't miss Take Me with You When You Go, Jennifer Niven's highly anticipated new book with bestselling author David Levithan! Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might kill himself, but every day he also searches for--and manages to find--something to keep him here, and alive, and awake. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school--six stories above the ground-- it's unclear who saves whom. Soon it's only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. . . . "A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe." --Justine Magazine "At the heart--a big one--of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." --The New York Times Book Review "A heart-rending, stylish love story." --The Wall Street Journal "A complex love story that will bring all the feels." --Seventeen Magazine "Impressively layered, lived-in, and real." --Buzzfeed

Girl, Interrupted

Girl, Interrupted

Books

In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next two years in the ward for teenage girls in a psychiatric hospital as renowned for its famous clientele—Sylvia Plath, Robert Lowell, James Taylor, and Ray Charles—as for its progressive methods of treating those who could afford its sanctuary.Kaysen's memoir encompasses horror and razor-edged perception while providing vivid portraits of her fellow patients and their keepers. It is a brilliant evocation of a "parallel universe" set within the kaleidoscopically shifting landscape of the late sixties. Girl, Interrupted is a clear-sighted, unflinching document that gives lasting and specific dimension to our definitions of sane and insane, mental illness and recovery.

Scroll to top