KS

My Favorite Whodunit Books

5 Books | by Kelly Smith

The Alienist

The Alienist

Books

THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING SENSATION NOW AVAILABLE FOR THE FIRST TIME IN EBOOKNow a major Netflix series starring Luke Evans, Dakota Fanning and Daniel BrühlOver 3 million copies sold worldwide108,000 Goodreads ratings For fans of Mindhunter and Sherlock Holmes************************ New York City, 1896. Hypocrisy in high places is rife, police corruption commonplace, and a brutal killer is terrorising young male prostitutes. Forensics and psychological profiling are still in their infancy, but as the body count rises, Police Commissioner Theodore Roosevelt calls on eminent psychologist or 'alienist', Dr Laszlo Kreizler and crime reporter John Schuyler Moore to trial these new methods.Kreizler, Moore and their team must venture to the darkest corners of New York - and the human mind - to catch the sadistic killer before they strike again.************************Praise for The Alienist'The Alienist isn't only an ingenious thriller. Carr brings enormous gusto to his portrait of old New York' Independent'Gripping, atmospheric, intelligent, and entertaining'USA Today'Richly atmospheric . . . You can smell the fear in the air' New York Times

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold

Books

Alex Leamas is tired. It's the 1960s, he's been out in the cold for years, spying in Berlin for his British masters, and has seen too many good agents murdered for their troubles. Now Control wants to bring him in at last - but only after one final assignment. He must travel deep into the heart of Communist Germany and betray his country, a job that he will do with his usual cynical professionalism. But when George Smiley tries to help a young woman Leamas has befriended, Leamas's mission may prove to be the worst thing he could ever have done. In le Carré's breakthrough work of 1963, the spy story is reborn as a gritty and terrible tale of men who are caught up in politics beyond their imagining. With a new introduction by William Boyd and an afterword by Le Carré himself.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Books

A bestselling modern classic—both poignant and funny—about a boy with autism who sets out to solve the murder of a neighbor's dog and discovers unexpected truths about himself and the world.Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American ReadChristopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow.This improbable story of Christopher's quest to investigate the suspicious death of a neighborhood dog makes for one of the most captivating, unusual, and widely heralded novels in recent years.

The Firm

The Firm

Books

At the top of his class at Harvard Law, he had his choice of the best in America. He made a deadly mistake. When Mitch McDeere signed on with Bendini, Lambert & Locke of Memphis, he thought he and his beautiful wife, Abby, were on their way. The firm leased him a BMW, paid off his school loans, arranged a mortgage and hired him a decorator. Mitch McDeere should have remembered what his brother Ray -- doing fifteen years in a Tennessee jail -- already knew. You never get nothing for nothing. Now the FBI has the lowdown on Mitch's firm and needs his help. Mitch is caught between a rock and a hard place, with no choice -- if he wants to live."Taut, fast and relentless... A ride worth taking." -- "San Francisco Chronicle." "Keeps the reader hooked... From the creepy first chapters... to the vise-tightening midsection and on to the take-the money-and-run finale." -- "The Wall Street Journal.""Irresistable... seizes the reader on the opening page and propels him through 400 more." -- Peter Prescott, "Newsweek."

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None

Books

First there were ten--a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unkonwn to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they're unwilling to reveal--and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.

Scroll to top