JM

My Favorite mental health books

5 Books | by Jordyn Molly Ritchie

I Never Promised You a Rose Garden

I Never Promised You a Rose Garden

Books

Since arriving home from working overseas, Jennifer Cooper and her husband, Ted, had been searching for an exciting, fulfilling initiation into what they believed to be their destiny. Discontented with city life, the couple eventually purchased a neglected old cabin on the coast without any idea that the fork in the path of their life would soon deviate from the predictable route and lead them into unknown territory. In a candid retelling, Jennifer reveals how fate guided them to seek refuge in a real estate agent’s office on a cold, windy day, ultimately changing the course of their lives forever. After disclosing how they spontaneously purchased a rundown, two-hundred-acre dairy farm with a spectacular view, Jennifer details how their poorly researched and impulsive “Sea Change” led them down an uncertain path filled with years of accidents, incidents, and downright disasters that would not only revealed their determination to overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles, but also to live their lives with gratitude and purpose. I Never Promised You a Rose Garden is the true story of a couple’s foray from seasoned city slickers to naïve farmers who eventually proved that positivity always leads us in the right direction, no matter how hard life becomes.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Books

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up. Now a major motion picture starring Emma Watson and Logan Lerman. Stephen Chbosky's new film Wonder, starring Owen Wilson and Julia Roberts is out now. Charlie is a freshman. And while he's not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix-tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can't stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.'A coming of age tale in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Separate Peace... often inspirational and always beautifully written' USA Today

Speak 20th Anniversary Edition

Speak 20th Anniversary Edition

Books

"Speak up for yourself—we want to know what you have to say." From the first moment of her freshman year at Merryweather High, Melinda knows this is a big fat lie, part of the nonsense of high school. She is friendless, outcast, because she busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops, so now nobody will talk to her, let alone listen to her. As time passes, she becomes increasingly isolated and practically stops talking altogether. Only her art class offers any solace, and it is through her work on an art project that she is finally able to face what really happened at that terrible party: she was raped by an upperclassman, a guy who still attends Merryweather and is still a threat to her. Her healing process has just begun when she has another violent encounter with him. But this time Melinda fights back, refuses to be silent, and thereby achieves a measure of vindication. A timeless novel about consent and finding the courage to speak up for yourself, the twentieth anniversary edition of the classic novel that has spoken to so many young adults now includes a new introduction by acclaimed writer, host, speaker, and cultural commentator Ashley C. Ford as well as an afterword by New York Times-bestselling author of All American Boys and Long Way Down, Jason Reynolds. This edition will also feature an updated Q&A, resource list, and essay and poem from Laurie Halse Anderson.Praise for Speak:“In a stunning first novel, Anderson uses keen observations and vivid imagery to pull readers into the head of an isolated teenager. . . . Will leave readers touched and inspired.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review“An uncannily funny book even as it plumbs the darkness, Speak will hold readers from first word to last.”—The Horn Book, starred reviewPraise for Speak: The Graphic Novel:“[Emily Carroll] should be recognized as one of the best graphic storytellers out there.”—Kate Beaton, author of Hark! A Vagrant“What a talent. What a voice.”—Mark Siegel, author of Sailor Twain, or The Mermaid in the Hudson“Carroll knows how to capture uncomfortable emotions—guilt, regret, possessiveness, envy—and transform them into hair-raising narratives.”—New York Times Book Review Accolades for Speak:New York Times BestsellerPublishers Weekly BestsellerMichael L. Printz Honor BookNational Book Award FinalistEdgar Allan Poe Award FinalistLos Angeles Times Book Prize FinalistALA Top Ten Best Book for Young AdultsALA Quick PickPublishers Weekly Best Book of the YearBooklist Top Ten First NovelBCCB Blue Ribbon BookSchool Library Journal Best Book of the Year

Beautiful Boy

Beautiful Boy

Books

#1 New York Times bestsellerNow a Major Motion Picture Starring Steve Carell * Timoth e Chalamet * Maura Tierney * and Amy Ryan "A brilliant, harrowing, heartbreaking, fascinating story, full of beautiful moments and hard-won wisdom. This book will save a lot of lives and heal a lot of hearts." -- Anne Lamott "'When one of us tells the truth, he makes it easier for all of us to open our hearts to our own pain and that of others.' That's ultimately what Beautiful Boy is about: truth and healing." -- Mary Pipher, author of Reviving Ophelia What had happened to my beautiful boy? To our family? What did I do wrong? Those are the wrenching questions that haunted David Sheff's journey through his son Nic's addiction to drugs and tentative steps toward recovery. Before Nic became addicted to crystal meth, he was a charming boy, joyous and funny, a varsity athlete and honor student adored by his two younger siblings. After meth, he was a trembling wraith who lied, stole, and lived on the streets. David Sheff traces the first warning signs: the denial, the three a.m. phone calls--is it Nic? the police? the hospital? His preoccupation with Nic became an addiction in itself. But as a journalist, he instinctively researched every treatment that might save his son. And he refused to give up on Nic. "Filled with compelling anecdotes and important insights . . . An eye-opening memoir." -- Washington Post

Where Are the Cocoa Puffs?

Where Are the Cocoa Puffs?

Books

As eighteen-year-old Amanda spirals into mania, her father, psychiatrist Dr. Jerry Benson, sees the realization of his worst fears: his daughter is not just moody, but truly ill. With his words, his diagnosis--manic depressive illness--his world and that of his family is forever altered. Carol, Amanda's mother, struggles with the guilt and shame of having raised a "crazy" daughter. Christy, Amanda's fifteen-year-old sister, denies the illness; after all, my sister's a bitch is so much easier to accept.Meanwhile, the Bensons' extended family offers up everything from unconditional support to uncomfortable scrutiny as Amanda careens between bouts of frightening violence, cosmic euphoria, and suicidal despair. Then there's Ryan, an architecture student who is initially ensnared by Amanda's manic sexuality, but is ultimately captured and held throughout the chaos by the force of love and strength of family.Where Are the Cocoa Puffs?: A Family's Journey Through Bipolar Disorder follows a family through the tragedy of bipolar disorder, but it's not tragic. It's funny, sad, and thought provoking--and as real and as raw as mental illness itself.

Scroll to top