JC

Romantasy

5 Books | by Joanna Cabrera

The Black Witch

The Black Witch

Books

Some echo of her dark power courses through my veins...waiting to be released.As Night slays Day, and Day slays Night, so also shall another Black Witch rise...her powers vast beyond imagining. A Great Winged One will soon arise and cast his fearsome shadow upon the land. And just as Night slays Day, and Day slays Night, so also shall another Black Witch rise to meet him, her powers vast beyond imagining.So foretells the greatest prophecy of the Gardnerian mages. Carnissa Gardner, the last prophesied Black Witch, drove back the enemy forces and saved her people during the Realm War. Now a new evil is on the horizon, and her granddaughter, Elloren, is believed to be Carnissa's heir – but while she is the absolute image of her famous grandmother, Elloren is utterly devoid of power in a society that prizes magical ability above nearly all else.When she is granted the opportunity to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming an apothecary, Elloren is eager to join her brothers at the prestigious Verpax University and finally embrace a destiny of her own, free from the shadow of her grandmother's legacy. But she soon realises that the university, which admits all manner of people – including the fire–wielding Icarals, the sworn enemies of all Gardnerians – is an even more treacherous place for the granddaughter of the Black Witch.“I absolutely loved The Black Witch... Maximum suspense, unusual magic – a whole new, thrilling approach to fantasy!” – Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author“The Black Witch is a refreshing, powerful young adult fantasy. This strong debut offers an uncompromising glimpse of world–altering politics amplified by a magical setting in which prejudice and discrimination cut both ways.” – Robin Hobb, New York Times bestselling author

Anchored

Anchored

Books

Every time Alora goes to sleep, she wakes up on another world, a magical world, a world that's about to collide with Earth in a very big way. Alora's the only person with the power save them both, only, she's not sure she should.  Alora’s life has been anything but magical. Since her parents died, she and her brother have been on the run from a creepy, doggedly determined social worker. In a few more months she turns eighteen, but until then, they're stuck hiding. It’s hardly surprising that she dreams every single night of another world, Terra, where she possesses telekinetic powers.What Alora can’t explain is how, when she breaks her arm in her dreams, she wakes up with the same (very real) injury on Earth. And if her dreams aren't real, shouldn't they be more fun? Since only men on Terra are supposed to be able to move things with their minds, Alora spends all her time there hiding her powers.But when her best friend on Terra is threatened, Alora uses her powers to save him, inadvertently killing the attacker. The next day on Earth, the exact same man she killed on Terra walks into her workplace. . .and drops dead. Suddenly, she's being hunted in both places. Alora must discover how Earth and Terra are connected and how far she’ll go to save a world that may not deserve to be saved.★Awards ★2021 IAN Book of the Year, Fantasy2021 Publisher's Weekly BookLife Prize Quarter Finalist2021 Readers' Favorite Urban Fantasy Winner2021 Whitney Award Nominee★Trade Reviews ★Kirkus said, "The author's worldbuilding is astute and unobtrusive. The fantasy series opener finds its rhythm early and then breezes along, keeping readers enthralled. [This] novel is a winner. YA and new-adult readers will take Alora as their own and thrill to the thought of a sequel. An absorbing meld of secondary-world and urban fantasy.""The best part of [Anchored] was the non-stop, action-packed, exciting plot. All I can say is, Bridget E. Baker, where have you been all my life? I can’t believe this is her only book that I have read. I will most definitely be reading more of her work. This book has it all: suspense, mystery, love, action, romance, war, you name it. And it is all perfectly combined to produce the perfect story and the perfect beginning to what I know will be a fantastic series," -Readers' Favorite"Wow, this book is intense. It takes hold and doesn't let go. Fast-paced writing, an awesome storyline, and ridiculously fun world-building make this a new favorite of the year. Plus, Egyptian mythology! A must-read for fantasy lovers," -USA Today Bestselling author, M. Lynn"Anchored is a fast paced, fantasy adventure with a strong heroine. I have no idea how Bridget did it, but she tangled reality and dream fantasy together effortlessly. This is one of those books you will go back and read again and again! I cannot wait for book 2," -USA Today Bestselling author, J.A. Culican"I picked this book up for the breathtaking cover, but I stayed for the fascinating story. I can honestly say I've never read anything quite like this. Usually it takes me a while to connect with a narrator, but I found myself rooting for this funny, self-deprecating protagonist from the first page. Top that off with a story that's solid and compelling, and a twisty plot that pulls at your heartstrings every step of the way, and you've got five amazing stars! My only complaint is that I can't binge read the rest of the series yet!" -USA Today Bestselling Author, Robin D. Mahle"This action-packed novel is a dose of both fantasy and reality. The writing is infectious, jam-packed with emotion, and the tangling of two worlds--the real and the dream--is masterfully done. Anchored is a book not to be missed," -USA Today Bestselling Author, Cortney Pearson"What a fascinating and intriguing urban fantasy read! The characters are beautifully developed, even those only briefly in the story. The angsty dramatic protagonist, Alora, even with all her deep seated problems and issues, remains likable. And there is one constant for Alora--her strong bond to her brother Jesse. Even though her future is supposed to be destined, Alora wants to lead her own life and not be dictated to. This is a wonderful story of different worlds and strong family ties told superbly!" In D'Tale MagazinePublisher's Weekly said, "A gripping, action-packed novel, Anchored holds readers captive and simply won't let go. Baker provides just enough detail and an intriguing premise to keep the reader hooked, revealing answers at exactly the right pace.Baker is an extraordinary writer. Her prose engages, seemingly flowing organically, whether descriptive, action-focused, or dialogue. She is clearly in command of her craft and does a superb job of advancing the plot while providing explanations in measured doses.The premise here is not only the right blend of imagination, mystery, and hold-your-breath action but is entirely unique and leaves the reader wanting more. Baker has created living, breathing characters who, despite the different world presented here and the unique powers the protagonist possesses, are still authentic and relatable. This book is a 10 out of 10."Keywords: portal fantasy, ya urban fantasy, ya contemporary fantasy, ya epic fantasy, Egyptian mythology, teen urban fantasy, fantasy romance, ya fantasy romance, ya contemporary romance fantasy, myths and mythology fantasy.

Blade of Secrets

Blade of Secrets

Books

In Blade of Secrets, a new YA fantasy adventure from the author of Daughter of the Pirate King, a teenage blacksmith with social anxiety is forced to go on the run to protect the world from the most powerful magical sword she's ever made. Eighteen-year-old Ziva prefers metal to people. She spends her days tucked away in her forge, safe from society and the anxiety it causes her, using her magical gift to craft unique weapons imbued with power.Then Ziva receives a commission from a powerful warlord, and the result is a sword capable of stealing its victims' secrets. A sword that can cut far deeper than the length of its blade. A sword with the strength to topple kingdoms. When Ziva learns of the warlord’s intentions to use the weapon to enslave all the world under her rule, she takes her sister and flees.Joined by a distractingly handsome mercenary and a young scholar with extensive knowledge of the world’s known magics, Ziva and her sister set out on a quest to keep the sword safe until they can find a worthy wielder or a way to destroy it entirely.

The Shattered Crown

The Shattered Crown

Books

Dark magic, mythical beasts, undying assassins, and forbidden love—this thrilling final installment in the epic Beast Charmer series is perfect for fans of Jennifer Armentrout, Sarah J Maas and Claire LegrandWhen Leena Edenfrell swore herself to the Frozen Prince, Noc Feyreigner, she never dreamed she'd ignite the flames of war. And yet as their enemies combine forces against them, Leena and Noc have no choice but to gather their allies and fight. While Noc makes moves to reclaim their lost throne, Leena acts as the new Crown of the Charmer's Council, searching for a way to stop the enemy from raising an ancient creature destined to burn their world to ash.But no matter how hard they fight—for each other, for their friends, and for everyone who looks to them to lead—Leena can't escape the feeling that her time is running out.Soon a winged shadow reigns over Lendria, and Leena is the last thing standing between everyone she loves and total destruction. It's in that moment that Noc and Leena discover the true price of victory: in order to tame the ancient dragon, Leena will have to sacrifice her own heart...and lose herself in the process.Intense, compelling, and impossible to put down, The Shattered Crown is perfect for readers looking for:epic YA/New Adult fantasy seriesa unique premise and a plot to die forbooks like Sarah J. Maas' Kingdom of Ash and Kalyn Josephson's Storm Crowhigh fantasy with paranormal and romance elementsmultidimensional characters and rich world-buildingThe Beast Charmer Series:Kingdom of ExilesThe Frozen PrinceThe Shattered Crown

Ninth House

Ninth House

Books

A LOCUS AWARD FINALIST!The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo, a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League eliteGalaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. In fact, by age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s thrown her life away. But at her hospital bed, Alex is offered a second chance: to attend one of the world’s most prestigious universities on a full ride. What’s the catch, and why her?Still searching for answers, Alex arrives in New Haven tasked by her mysterious benefactors with monitoring the activities of Yale’s secret societies. Their eight windowless “tombs” are the well-known haunts of the rich and powerful, from high-ranking politicos to Wall Street’s biggest players. But their occult activities are more sinister and more extraordinary than any paranoid imagination might conceive. They tamper with forbidden magic. They raise the dead. And, sometimes, they prey on the living.

Scroll to top