Likewise's profile image

The Best New Books Hitting Shelves in December

5 Books | by Likewise User verified icon

Call Us What We Carry

Call Us What We Carry

Books

The instant #1 New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestsellerThe breakout poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda GormanFormerly titled The Hill We Climb and Other Poems, the luminous poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman captures a shipwrecked moment in time and transforms it into a lyric of hope and healing. In Call Us What We Carry, Gorman explores history, language, identity, and erasure through an imaginative and intimate collage. Harnessing the collective grief of a global pandemic, this beautifully designed volume features poems in many inventive styles and structures and shines a light on a moment of reckoning. Call Us What We Carry reveals that Gorman has become our messenger from the past, our voice for the future.

One Night, New York

One Night, New York

Books

Set over the course of a single evening, this literary thriller is at once a detective story, a romance, and a coming-of-age tale. It is also a story of old New York, of Greenwich Village between the wars, of artists and bohemians lighting up Manhattan as the Great Depression descends upon the city.For the hundredth time since they'd made their promise, she wondered if she and Agnes were really going to go through with it, if she was brave and terrible enough . . . A thrilling debut novel of corruption and murder set in the nightclubs, tenements, and skyscrapers of 1930s New York. At the top of the Empire State Building on a freezing December night, two women hold their breath. Frances and Agnes are waiting for the man who has wronged them. They plan to seek the ultimate revenge. Set over the course of a single night, One Night, New York is a detective story, a romance and a coming-of-age tale. It is also a story of old New York, of bohemian Greenwich Village between the wars, of floozies and artists and addicts—lighting up the world, while all around them America burned with the Great Depression.

The Hawthorne School

The Hawthorne School

Books

For fans of Riley Sager, The Hawthorne School is a twisty psychological suspense about the lengths one mother will go for her child, inspired by present-day obsession with cults and true crime.Claudia Morgan is overwhelmed. She's a single parent trying the best that she can, but her four-year-old son, Henry, is a handful--for her and for his preschool. When Claudia hears about a school with an atypical teaching style near her Chicagoland home, she has to visit. The Hawthorne School is beautiful and has everything she dreams of for Henry: time to play outside, music, and art. The head of the school, Zelma, will even let Claudia volunteer to cover the cost of tuition. The school is good for Henry: his "behavioral problems" disappear, and he comes home subdued instead of rageful. But there's something a bit off about the school, its cold halls, and its enigmatic headmistress. When Henry brings home stories of ceremonies in the woods and odd rules, Claudia's instincts tell her that something isn't quite right, and she begins to realize she's caught in a web of manipulations and power. The author's work as a psychotherapist, with a focus on narcissistic manipulation and addictive power dynamics, guides this exploration of a young mother wanting to do the best for her child.

True Crime Story

True Crime Story

Books

Barry Forshaw's Book of the Year, i Paper'A provocative mix of real and fictional crime in which the author himself investigates the disappearance of a student named Zoe... this is something new in the overcrowded crime genre'"A triumph. Dazzlingly original.' Sunday Times ______________'What happens to those girls who go missing? What happens to the Zoe Nolans of the world?'In the early hours of Saturday 17 December 2011, Zoe Nolan, a nineteen-year-old Manchester University student, walked out of a party taking place in the shared accommodation where she had been living for three months.She was never seen again.Seven years after her disappearance, struggling writer Evelyn Mitchell finds herself drawn into the mystery. Through interviews with Zoe's closest friends and family, she begins piecing together what really happened in 2011. But where some versions of events overlap, aligning perfectly with one another, others stand in stark contrast, giving rise to troubling inconsistencies.Shaken by revelations of Zoe's secret life, and stalked by a figure from the shadows, Evelyn turns to crime writer Joseph Knox to help make sense of a case where everyone has something to hide.Zoe Nolan may be missing presumed dead, but her story is only just beginning'Riveting and relentless...A unique story, brilliantly told' Terry Hayes'Brilliant, compelling and original' Steve Cavanagh'Highly original and mischievous' John Boyne______________Readers love TRUE CRIME STORY:'Perfectly combines the best parts of true crime, fiction and mystery. Superb''My favourite read of 2021...fascinating, perplexing and bloody brilliant''I've been looking for something different and new in the crime genre. Here it is'

Out of Office

Out of Office

Books

A game-changing book about the revolutionary potential of working from home, by two experts who work -- and live -- together. When the COVID-19 pandemic closed offices around the world, sending millions into makeshift home offices, it was a forced compromise made under duress. But 2020 taught us that there may be another way to work: one that doesn't involve hellish commutes and set schedules that no longer make sense, especially for companies with international reach. While working from home can make people happier and make companies more productive, it has its pitfalls. Doing it well takes some thought. Out of Officecombines Charlie and Anne's first-person experiences of moving to a rural area and working remotely -- for years before the pandemic hit -- to demonstrate how workers everywhere can find new ways of working anywhere.

Scroll to top