Ashleigh's profile image

what’s next?

5 Books | by Ashleigh Brown

The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons Book 1)

The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons Book 1)

Books

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Tamora Pierce! Told in alternating male and female perspectives, THE SHADOW SOUL has been hailed as "an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so much more." (Happy Tails & Tales Reviews)When Jinji's home is destroyed, she is left with nowhere to run and no one to run to--until she meets Rhen, a prince chasing rumors that foreign enemies have landed on his shores. Masquerading as a boy, Jinji joins Rhen with vengeance in her heart. But traveling together doesn't mean trusting one another, and both are keeping a deep secret--magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Rhen can pull burning flames into his flesh.But while they struggle to hide the truth, a shadow lurks in the night. An ancient evil has reawakened, and unbeknownst to them, these two unlikely companions hold the key to its defeat. Because their meeting was not coincidence--it was fate. And their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time, an age of myth that is about to be reborn...Keywords: teens and young adult, sword and sorcery, action and adventure, fantasy romance, coming of age, fantasy, teen fiction, dragons, magic, dual perspectives, free, freebie, free bookRAVE REVIEWS!"The writing is flawless. The story and plot line, and plot twists, had me captivated and enamored for the first words. I couldn't put this book down for anything, and I absolutely cannot wait for book two...It's an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so much more." - Happy Tails and Tales"One word to describe this book: intense! Everything from the battles, to the secrets, to the descriptions of the characters and scenery, are all incredibly intense. This book had me biting my nails, stomach tided in knots, and completely entranced til the last word." - Desert Rose Reviews"Throughout the story, the stakes were always raised. There was no part that lagged while Davis was telling her story of far off lands, and the drama continued to the very end...To those readers who like fantasy and adventure, or to those who tried to read "A Song of Ice and Fire" but couldn't make it through the first chapter without falling asleep - this could be a series for you." -Pink Fluffy Hearts"The Shadow Soul was positively transportive, left me feeling refreshed, and renewed my faith in symbolism, imagery, and the importance of world building and cultural preservation...If you want to set out on a journey, read this." - We Do Write"I loved this book! I was drawn into the story with the fantastic and descriptive storytelling told alternatively between Rhen and Jinji!... The political pickings, magical murderers, and shadowy suspense are the real plot stars in this book and the wonderful characterization and world-building adds extra oomph to grab you and keep you in this world." - EBook Escapes

This Savage Song

This Savage Song

Books

#1 New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the YearThere’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake.The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Firstlife

Firstlife

Books

The instant New York Times bestseller!"Utterly unique and absolutely riveting—I couldn't put it down! What a marvelously cool world."—New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. MaasFrom the author of the New York Times bestselling White Rabbit Chronicles series comes the first book of a series in which life as we know it is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.Tenley "Ten" Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl...who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she'll live—after she dies.There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she's drawn to isn't where the boy she's falling for lives? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision...Books in the Everlife series:FirstlifeLifebloodEverlife

The Ruby Red Trilogy

The Ruby Red Trilogy

Books

The Ruby Red Trilogy: Ruby Red, Sapphire Blue, and Emerald GreenThis internationally bestselling series follows Gwyneth Shepherd, a girl with a time-traveling secret. Traipsing through past centuries, juggling a potential romance, and unlocking her destiny, Gwen has her work cut out for her.Ruby Red: Gwen has always known that her family is different—the women, in particular. As time travelers, they are no strangers to the possibility of the impossible. But even they are't expecting it when Gwen shows signs of being a time traveler rather than her cousin Charlotte. Thrust into a world she should have been excluded from, Gwen is introduced to Gideon, a fellow traveler. Although the two don't get along, something other than annoyance might be brewing under the surface. As Gwen masters her new ability, she learns more abou therself than she ever could have imagined.Sapphire Blue: Gwen has joined the ranks of the Circle of Twelve, a secret society of chosen time travelers. As the Ruby, Gwen is tasked with finding travelers in the past, all while delving into prophecies and trying to read the mixed signals that Gideon, the Diamond of the Circle, has been sending. With the help of her best friend, a ghost, and a gargoyle demon, Gwen seeks to unearth the truth behind the Circle—a truth that has been actively hidden from her.Emerald Green: Crushed to learn that Gideon may have been deceiving her all along, Gwen has to move forward nonetheless. She has more than enough on her plate: her distrust of Count Saint-Germain, founder of the Circle of Twelve, who wants Gwen to finish collecting blood from the other chosen travelers; the chronograph, a device which will close the Circle if she succeeds; and the resistance she meets at every turn as she seeks more knowledge. With much more to be revealed, Gwen must race against the clock to fulfill her destiny—before it's too late.Includes bonus chapters from Kerstin Gier Dream a Little Dream!

The Summoning

The Summoning

Books

'Terrifying ghosts, smatterings of gore and diverse teen voices will prompt young adults to pick up the next in this series.' - Kirkus Reviews, starred review'Action, danger, supernatural secrets, and a hint of romance--Armstrong's world is one in which trusting the wrong person can have dire consequences. You'll be desperate for a sequel.' - Melissa MarrAll Chloe Saunders wants is a life like any normal teenager - the chance to get through school, make friends, and maybe meet a boy. But when she starts seeing ghosts, she knows that life will never be normal again.Soon ghosts are everywhere, demanding her attention. When Chloe finally breaks down, she's admitted to a group home for disturbed kids. At first Lyle House seems okay, but as she gets to know the other patients - charming Simon and his ominous, unsmiling brother Derek; obnoxious Tori; and Rae, who has a 'thing' for fire - Chloe begins to realise that something strange and sinister binds them all together, and it isn't your usual 'problem kid' behaviour.And they're about to discover that Lyle House is not your usual group home, either . . .The first book in the Darkest Powers trilogy - the first YA series by #1 bestselling author Kelley Armstrong.Books by Kelley Armstrong: Women of the Otherworld series Bitten Stolen Dime Store Magic Industrial Magic Haunted Broken No Humans Involved Personal Demon Living with the Dead Frost Bitten Walking the Witch Spellbound Thirteen Nadia Stafford Exit Strategy Made to be Broken Wild Justice Rockton City of the Lost A Darkness Absolute This Fallen Prey Watcher in the Woods Alone in the Wild Darkest Powers The Summoning The Awakening The Reckoning Otherworld Tales Men of the Otherworld Tales of the Otherworld Otherworld Nights Otherworld Secrets Otherworld Chills Darkness Rising The Gathering The Calling The Rising Cainsville Omens Visions Deceptions Betrayals Rituals

Scroll to top