Bustle's profile image

Vampire Novels Like 'Twilight' To Read

5 Books | by Bustle

Crave

Crave

Books

Instant New York Times Bestselling SeriesAn Amazon “Best YA Book of 2020”Glitter Magazine’s #1 Pick for “Best YA of 2020"Optioned for Film by UniversalMy whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy. Nothing is right about this place or the other students in it. Here I am, a mere mortal among gods...or monsters. I still can’t decide which of these warring factions I belong to, if I belong at all. I only know the one thing that unites them is their hatred of me.Then there’s Jaxon Vega. A vampire with deadly secrets who hasn’t felt anything for a hundred years. But there’s something about him that calls to me, something broken in him that somehow fits with what’s broken in me.Which could spell death for us all.Because Jaxon walled himself off for a reason. And now someone wants to wake a sleeping monster, and I’m wondering if I was brought here intentionally—as the bait.***INCLUDES 3 BONUS SCENES FROM THE HERO’S POV***Don’t miss a single book in the series that spawned a phenomenon! The Crave series is best enjoyed in order:CraveCrushCovetCourtCharm

From Blood and Ash

From Blood and Ash

Books

Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa.A Maiden…Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.A Duty…The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.A Kingdom…Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.Reviews for From Blood and Ash:"Dreamy, twisty, steamy escapism. Take me back!" -New York Times bestseller Wendy Higgins“Jennifer Armentrout has the power to control my emotions with every word she writes. From swooning to crying to racing through the pages to find out what happens next, I couldn't stop reading about Hawke and Poppy, and you won't be able to either.” - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times Bestselling Author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely “Action, adventure, sexiness, and angst! From Blood and Ash has it all and double that. So many feels and so many moments it made me cheer for the character. Read. This. Book! You'll be obsessed!” -  Tijan NYT bestselling author“From Blood and Ash is a phenomenal fantasy novel that is filled to the brim with danger, mystery and heart melting romance. I loved every single second of it and I couldn’t get enough of this new fantastical world. A heart stopping start to what is clearly going to be a stunning series, perfect for both those who love fantasy and those who are new to the genre. A must read.” Kayleigh, K-Books"If you think you are ready for From Blood and Ash, think again. Jennifer L. Armentrout has woven a new fantasy universe that will leave you reeling. Filled with action, heart wrenching twists and the most delicious romance, this unputdownable novel comes with a warning: keep a fan close by, because the temperatures are about to rise." Elena, The Bibliotheque Blo“In this exciting new novel by Jennifer L. Armentrout, she introduces a fantastical world filled with immense detail, and characters who are poignant and fierce, Jennifer truly has out done herself!” – BookBesties “From Blood and Ash is a fantastic fantasy that will hook you immediately from the very first page! I loved every single moment and all of the characters are ones you will fall in love with! Jennifer L. Armentrout has done it again with her amazing writing skills and lots of detail! Get this book immediately!!!” - Amanda @Stuck In YA Books“Jennifer has stepped into the fantasy genre with this absolutely amazing novel. With characters you will love and more than a few twists and turns, get ready for one amazing adventure.”-Perpetual Fangirl"This magnificent book has so many pieces in it: fantasy, mystery, forbidden romance, supernatural, lies, deceit, betrayal, love, friendship, family. And so, so, so many secrets your head will be spinning. Jennifer L. Armentrout has created another masterpiece that I will be rushing to buy, and will be telling everyone to read it ASAP!" ~Jeraca @My Nose in YA Books“From Blood to Ash is the first high fantasy book from Jennifer L Armentrout, but hopefully not the last. Like all her other works, her ability to create worlds, create swoon worthy men, and feisty strong female characters is amazing. Fantasy, mystery, romance, betrayal, love, and steamy scenes, this book has it all.” - Lisa @ The Blonde Book Lover“From Blood & Ash is everything we love about JLA’s fantasy writing...pumped up on steroids. There’s epic world building and plot twists, a strong female lead, a swoon worthy book hottie, a steamy forbidden love story, and side characters that can’t help but steal your heart. My mind was blown by the end of this book.” - Kris S. (frantic4romantic)“Step into an exciting new fantasy world by Jennifer L. Armentrout, From Blood And Ash takes you on a fantastic ride with twists and turns galore. Characters you will love to laugh and cry with. A phenomenal start to an exciting new series.” - Lori Dunn an avid reader“From Blood and Ash was everything I wanted in a high fantasy novel. The myths, the legends, the epic romance, and an adventure that will keep you on your toes beginning to end. I couldn’t put the book down. Truly a brilliant start to what I believe will be yet another amazing series by Jennifer L. Armentrout." –Sabrina, Books Are My Life“Jennifer L. Armentrout takes her first step into the high fantasy genre with From Blood and Ash. A story of forbidden love, lies, secrets, and betrayal - it will leave you wanting more after the very last page.” - Love Just Is Books“From Blood and Ash is like reading my favorite book for first time.” - Raquel Herrera“With From Blood and Ash, Jennifer Armentrout successfully takes on the genre of high fantasy, proving, once again, that she is a master of her craft. Filled with epic adventure, forbidden romance, deceit, lies, and betrayal, FB&A draws you in from page one and refuses to let go!”- Erica, The Rest Just Falls Away“Jennifer L. Armentrout comes trough once again with From Blood and Ash as it kept me enthralled throughout the full book. You won't be able to put down this epic story once you start.” - Julalicious Book Paradise“From Blood and Ash strikes the perfect balance between fantasy and romance elements leaving the world feeling live in and full while allowing the relationship between the main characters feeling real and authentic.” - Nads Book Nook, Nadine Bergeron“Be prepared to spend your whole day reading From Blood and Ash. Once you start reading this high fantasy novel, you won't want to put it down.” - Love Book Triangle“From Blood and Ash is absolutely breath taking. JLA does what she does best by creating a fantastical world filled with romance, lies, betrayal, adventure and all things we love and expect from JLA characters that melt our hearts and steal our hearts and souls. I cannot wait for the next one!” - Pia Colon“From Blood and Ash, Jennifer L. Armentrout brought to life a high fantasy that is enthralling. Another masterful addition to my collection. Get ready to stay on your toes from start to end.” - Amy Oh, Reader by the Mountains“From Blood and Ash is the first high fantasy novel by Jennifer L Armentrout and she absolutely nails it. This is fantasy for skeptics and unbelievers because it makes you want to be a fantasy fan! This page turner makes you want to devour it in one night and at the same time savor every detail. Heart stopping and inspiring and grips you from page one.” – Tracy Kirby “An intriguing puzzle of a world, a ruthless hero, a determine heroin, and a plot that will keep you up late, this book is one of the best I've read this year.” – Valerie from Stuck In Books“From Blood and Ash, a thrilling high fantasy that packs a punch, each page will leave you wanting more!” - Tracey, Books & Other Pursuits

Chosen

Chosen

Books

Nina continues to learn how to use her slayer powers against enemies old and new in this second novel in the New York Times bestselling series from Kiersten White, set in the world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Now that Nina has turned the Watcher's Castle into a utopia for hurt and lonely demons, she's still waiting for the utopia part to kick in. With her sister Artemis gone and only a few people remaining at the castle--including her still-distant mother--Nina has her hands full. Plus, though she gained back her Slayer powers from Leo, they're not feeling quite right after being held by the seriously evil succubus Eve, a.k.a. fake Watcher's Council member and Leo's mom. And while Nina is dealing with the darkness inside, there's also a new threat on the outside, portended by an odd triangle symbol that seems to be popping up everywhere, in connection with Sean's demon drug ring as well as someone a bit closer to home. Because one near-apocalypse just isn't enough, right? The darkness always finds you. And once again, it's coming for the Slayer. "Will get Buffy fans up in their feels." --Entertainment Weekly on Slayer

Certain Dark Things

Certain Dark Things

Books

From a critically-acclaimed novelist Silvia Moreno-Garcia comes Certain Dark Things, a pulse-pounding and action-packed contemporary fantasy that turns vampire fiction on its head. Welcome to Mexico City... An Oasis In A Sea Of Vampires...Domingo, a lonely garbage-collecting street kid, is busy eking out a living when a jaded vampire on the run swoops into his life. Atl, the descendant of Aztec blood drinkers, must feast on the young to survive and Domingo looks especially tasty. Smart, beautiful, and dangerous, Atl needs to escape to South America, far from the rival narco-vampire clan pursuing her. Domingo is smitten.Her plan doesn’t include developing any real attachment to Domingo. Hell, the only living creature she loves is her trusty Doberman. Little by little, Atl finds herself warming up to the scrappy young man and his effervescent charm. And then there’s Ana, a cop who suddenly finds herself following a trail of corpses and winds up smack in the middle of vampire gang rivalries. Vampires, humans, cops, and gangsters collide in the dark streets of Mexico City. Do Atl and Domingo even stand a chance of making it out alive?

Fledgling

Fledgling

Books

Octavia E. Butler is one of the finest voices in fiction--period. . . . A master storyteller, Butler casts an unflinching eye on racism, sexism, poverty, and ignorance and lets the reader see the terror and beauty of human nature.-"The Washington Post Book World "Readers familiar with . . . "Parable of the Sower and "Bloodchild will recall that [Butler] never asks easy questions or settles for easy answers."-Gerald Jonas in "The New York Times "Fledgling, Octavia Butler's first new novel in seven years, is the story of an apparently young, amnesiac girl whose alarmingly unhuman needs and abilities lead her to a startling conclusion: She is in fact a genetically modified, 53-year-old vampire. Forced to discover what she can about her stolen former life, she must at the same time learn who wanted-and still wants-to destroy her and those she cares for and how she can save herself. "Fledgling is a captivating novel that tests the limits of "otherness" and questions what it means to be truly human. Octavia E. Butler is the author of 11 novels, including "Kindred, "Dawn, and "Parable of the Sower. Recipient of a MacArthur Foundation "genius" grant, the Nebula Award, the Hugo Award, and numerous other literary awards, she has been acclaimed for her lean prose, strong protagonists, and social observations that range from the distant past to the far future.

Scroll to top