Shayden's profile image

Books I’ve read

5 Books | by Shayden Baker

These are books I’ve read within the past 3 years.

Harry Potter

Harry Potter

Books

A fabulous opportunity to own all seven Harry Potter titles - Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows- in a fantastic boxed set

Stepsister

Stepsister

Books

An instant New York Times bestseller!A Seventeen Best of the YearLonglisted for the Carnegie MedalA YALSA pickIsabelle should be blissfully happy-she's about to win the handsome prince. Except Isabelle isn't the beautiful girl who lost the glass slipper and captured the prince's heart. She's the ugly stepsister who cut off her toes to fit into Cinderella's shoe . . . which is now filling with blood.Isabelle tried to fit in. She cut away pieces of herself in order to become pretty. Sweet. More like Cinderella. But that only made her mean, jealous, and hollow. Now she has a chance to alter her destiny and prove what ugly stepsisters have always known: it takes more than heartache to break a girl.Evoking the darker, original version of the Cinderella story, Stepsister shows us that ugly is in the eye of the beholder, and uses Jennifer Donnelly's trademark wit and wisdom to send an overlooked character on a journey toward empowerment, redemption . . . and a new definition of beauty.

Autofocus

Autofocus

Books

From the author of The Night We Said Yes comes a fun and heartfelt YA contemporary tale. When Maude decides to search for information about her birth mother, she finds out more than she expected. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Susane Colasanti. Family. It’s always been a loaded word for Maude, whose birth mother died after giving her up for adoption. With her best friend, Treena, in college in the same town where her birth mother grew up, Maude decides to visit and explore her past. But when Maude arrives, she quickly discovers that Treena doesn’t seem to have time for her—or for helping with her search. Enter Bennett, a cute guy who lives in Treena’s dorm. He understands Maude’s need to find her mother. And as Bennett helps Maude, she starts to realize that her mother’s past doesn’t have to define her own future.

The Selection Series (the Selection, the Elite, the One)

The Selection Series (the Selection, the Elite, the One)

Books

Thirty-five beautiful girls. Thirty-five beautiful rivals... And only one will claim Prince Maxon's heart. THE SELECTION is the epic no. 1 New York Times bestselling series. Now available in a three-book boxed set. THE SELECTION is the chance of a lifetime and 17-year-old America Singer should feel lucky. She has been chosen for the reality TV lottery in which the special few compete for gorgeous Prince Maxon's love. Swept up in a world of elaborate gowns, glittering jewels and decadent feasts, America is living a new and glamorous life. And the prince takes a special interest in her, much to the outrage of the others. Rivalry within The Selection is fierce and not all of the girls are prepared to play by the rules. But what they don't know is that America has a secret - one which could throw the whole competition... and change her life forever. Prepare to swoon with the first three books in THE SELECTION series!

The Hiding Place

The Hiding Place

Books

Corrie ten Boom (1892 1983) was a Dutch woman admired the world over for her courage, her forgiveness, and her memorable faith. In World War II, she and her family risked their lives to help Jews escape the Nazis by hiding them in their home in Haarlem, and their reward was a trip to Hitler s concentration camps. Corrie s father, sister, brother, and nephew died as a result of their imprisonment. But she survived and was released as a result of a clerical error and now shares the story of how faith triumphs over evil.For thirty-five years Corrie s dramatic life story, full of timeless virtues, has prepared readers to face their own futures with faith, relying on God s love to overcome, heal, and restore. "The Hiding Place" tells the riveting story of how a middle-aged Dutch watchmaker became a heroine of the Resistance, a survivor of Hitler s death camps, and one of the most remarkable evangelists of the twentieth century.After the war, Corrie ten Boom returned to the Netherlands to set up rehabilitation centers. She returned to Germany in 1946, and many years of itinerant teaching in over sixty countries followed, during which time she wrote many books. In 1967, Corrie ten Boom was honored as one of the Righteous Among the Nations by the State of Israel. "The Hiding Place" (1971) was made into a film in 1975."

Scroll to top