Likewise's profile image

Every Book Coming to Shelves in August

5 Books | by Likewise User verified icon

Prelude for Lost Souls

Prelude for Lost Souls

Books

For readers of Nova Ren Suma, Maggie Steifvater, and Maureen Johnson comes a spellbinding tale about choosing your own path, the families we create for ourselves, and facing the ghosts of your past.In the town of St. Hilaire, most make their living by talking to the dead. In the summer, the town gates open to tourists seeking answers while all activity is controlled by The Guild, a sinister ruling body that sees everything.Dec Hampton has lived there his entire life, but ever since his parents died, he's been done with it. He knows he has to leave before anyone has a chance to stop him.His best friend Russ won't be surprised when Dec leaves—but he will be heartbroken. Russ is a good medium, maybe even a great one. He's made sacrifices for his gift and will do whatever he can to gain entry to The Guild, even embracing dark forces and contacting the most elusive ghost in town.But when the train of Annie Krylova, the piano prodigy whose music has been Dec's main source of solace, breaks down outside of town, it sets off an unexpected chain of events. And in St. Hilaire, there are no such things as coincidences.

Vanessa Yu's Magical Paris Tea Shop

Vanessa Yu's Magical Paris Tea Shop

Books

From the critically acclaimed author of Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune comes a new delightful novel about exploring all the magical possibilities of life in the most extraordinary city of all: Paris. Vanessa Yu never wanted to see people's fortunes—or misfortunes—in tealeaves. Ever since she can remember, Vanessa has been able to see people's fortunes at the bottom of their teacups. To avoid blurting out their fortunes, she converts to coffee, but somehow fortunes escape and find a way to complicate her life and the ones of those around her. To add to this plight, her romance life is so nonexistent that her parents enlist the services of a matchmaking expert from Shanghai. After her matchmaking appointment, Vanessa sees death for the first time. She decides that she can't truly live until she can find a way to get rid of her uncanny abilities. When her eccentric Aunt Evelyn shows up with a tempting offer to whisk her away, Vanessa says au revoir to California and bonjour to Paris. There, Vanessa learns more about herself and the root of her gifts and realizes one thing to be true: knowing one's destiny isn't a curse, but being unable to change it is.

This Time Next Year

This Time Next Year

Books

The instant New York Times bestseller adored by readers around the world! Curl up with the refreshingly romantic and unputdownable rom-com which has everyone falling head over heels...Get ready to fall for this year's most extraordinary love storyQuinn and Minnie are born on New Year's Eve, in the same hospital, one minute apart.Their lives may begin together, but their worlds couldn't be more different.Thirty years later they find themselves together again in the same place, at the same time.What if fate is trying to bring them together?Maybe it's time to take a chance on love...____________________'Heart-warming and unashamedly romantic' RUTH JONES'Sparkling and uplifting' MHAIRI MCFARLANE'Every page of this book is perfect' CRESSIDA MCLAUGHLIN'Swooningly romantic...I didn't want to put it down' KIRSTY GREENWOOD'I absolutely loved This Time Next Year...so funny and sad and brilliant on love, friendship and family. Plus it contains the finest comedic airport security scene since spinal tap' TOM ELLEN'A beautiful debut full of heart, soul and serendipity with characters you can't help but fall in love with.' ALEX BROWN'This Time Next Year will make you laugh, cry and keep reading long into the night - it's the escapist read everyone needs right now.' HOLLY MARTIN'A funny, pull-at-your-heartstrings read, this is the perfect companion for curling up with hot chocolate and a blanket. Unashamedly romantic and packed full of holiday sparkle, it's a hug in book form.' JOSIE SILVER'Uplifting and relatable' WOMAN & HOME'Bursting with colour, I was rooting for the pair the whole way through.' PRIMA 'This Time Next Year has a heroine you'll want to be friends with and a hero you'll want to spend more time with. A note-perfect romcom.' RED 'Funny, perceptive, and completely binge-worthy!' SUN ON SUNDAY____________________Readers are falling in love with This Time Next Year:'I loved every moment ... It's so clever and intricate and I adored it.''This is a book that I will definitely be re-reading... I fell in love with the characters.' 'This Time Next Year is utterly refreshing. Filled with love (a little lust) and laughter.''I completely loved this book! Blissfully indulgent on the romance ... I loved the writing''I was smitten with this story from the first chapter.''The book you're looking for!!''I enjoyed this beautiful and romantic story. The plot was well crafted and the characters were people I could relate to and empathise with. Definitely recommended.' 'The characters were great and I was sad to finish the book as I would no longer be spending time in their company. The story is lovely and also believable, I will be recommending this book to all my friends.''You'll start the book because it sounds cute, you'll keep reading it because the plot keeps unfolding and not once does it stand still or stagnate and you'll re-read it because you love all the people encapsulated within the pages so much.''This book is delightful. It's a big hug; a hot chocolate; your favourite onesie, all rolled into one.''I would really recommend this to anyone that really does believe in fate, enjoys proposals from a knight on a unicorn and knows that love will always win.''I absolutely loved it, truly one of the best books I have read.'

The Death of Vivek Oji

The Death of Vivek Oji

Books

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"Electrifying." — O: The Oprah Magazine Named a Best Book of 2020 by The New York Times, The Washington Post, NPR, USA TODAY, Vanity Fair, Elle, Harper's Bazaar, Marie Claire, Shondaland, Teen Vogue, Vulture, Lit Hub, Bustle, Electric Literature, and BookPageWhat does it mean for a family to lose a child they never really knew? One afternoon, in a town in southeastern Nigeria, a mother opens her front door to discover her son’s body, wrapped in colorful fabric, at her feet. What follows is the tumultuous, heart-wrenching story of one family’s struggle to understand a child whose spirit is both gentle and mysterious. Raised by a distant father and an understanding but overprotective mother, Vivek suffers disorienting blackouts, moments of disconnection between self and surroundings. As adolescence gives way to adulthood, Vivek finds solace in friendships with the warm, boisterous daughters of the Nigerwives, foreign-born women married to Nigerian men. But Vivek’s closest bond is with Osita, the worldly, high-spirited cousin whose teasing confidence masks a guarded private life. As their relationship deepens—and Osita struggles to understand Vivek’s escalating crisis—the mystery gives way to a heart-stopping act of violence in a moment of exhilarating freedom. Propulsively readable, teeming with unforgettable characters, The Death of Vivek Oji is a novel of family and friendship that challenges expectations—a dramatic story of loss and transcendence that will move every reader.

Behind the Red Door

Behind the Red Door

Books

The author of the “suspenseful, atmospheric, and completely riveting” (Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author) debut The Winter Sister returns with a darkly thrilling novel about a woman who comes to believe that she has a connection to a decades old kidnapping and now that the victim has gone missing again, begins a frantic search to learn what happened in the past. When Fern Douglas sees the news about Astrid Sullivan, a thirty-four-year-old missing woman from Maine, she is positive that she knows her. Fern’s husband is sure it’s because of Astrid’s famous kidnapping—and equally famous return—twenty years ago, but Fern has no memory of that, even though it happened an hour outside her New Hampshire hometown. And when Astrid appears in Fern’s recurring nightmare, one in which a girl reaches out to her, pleading, Fern fears that it’s not a dream at all, but a memory. Back at her childhood home to help her father pack for a move, Fern purchases a copy of Astrid’s recently published memoir—which may have provoked her original kidnapper to abduct her again—and as she reads through its chapters and visits the people and places within it, she discovers more evidence that she has an unsettling connection to the missing woman. With the help of her psychologist father, Fern digs deeper, hoping to find evidence that her connection to Astrid can help the police locate her. But when Fern discovers more about her own past than she ever bargained for, the disturbing truth will change both of their lives forever. Featuring Megan Collins’s signature “dark, tense, and completely absorbing” (Booklist) prose and plenty of shocking twists and turns, Behind the Red Door is an arresting thriller that will haunt you long after you turn the last page.

Scroll to top