Kellie's profile image

Must Reads

5 Books | by Kellie Gros

The Red Church

The Red Church

Books

"Like Stephen King, he knows how to summon serious scares." - Bentley Little, The HauntingStoker Award finalist THE RED CHURCHFor 13-year-old Ronnie Day, life is full of problems: Mom and Dad have separated, his brother Tim is a constant pest, Melanie Ward either loves him or hates him, and Jesus Christ won't stay in his heart. Plus he has to walk past the red church every day, where the Bell Monster hides with its wings and claws and livers for eyes. But the biggest problem is that Archer McFall is the new preacher at the church, and Mom wants Ronnie to attend midnight services with her.Sheriff Frank Littlefield hates the red church for a different reason. His little brother died in a freak accident at the church twenty years ago, and now Frank is starting to see his brother's ghost. And the ghost keeps demanding, "Free me." People are dying in Whispering Pines, and the murders coincide with McFall's return.The Days, the Littlefields, and the McFalls are descendants of the original families that settled the rural Appalachian community. Those old families share a secret of betrayal and guilt, and McFall wants his congregation to prove its faith. Because he believes he is the Second Son of God, and that the cleansing of sin must be done in blood."Sacrifice is the currency of God," McFall preaches, and unless Frank and Ronnie stop him, everybody pays.---------------------------"Scott Nicholson understands that the best horror novels achieve primal fear through a combination of sustained atmosphere, richly drawn characters, and believable if uncanny evils that draw unholy power from everyday lives." --Christopher Ransom, author of The Birthing House"Keep both hands on your pants, because Nicholson is about to scare them off."--J.A. Konrath, Origin"Scott Nicholson is the kind of writer who always surprises and always entertains."--Jonathan Maberry, Patient Zero"Scott Nicholson writes with a mixture of H.P. Lovecraft, Manly Wade Wellman, and Clive Barker." - Kevin J. AndersonKeywords: Stephen King, Joe Hill, horror fiction, paranormal, suspense, mystery, supernatural thriller, ghost story, haunted house story, scary google books, spooky ebooks, Dean Koontz, James Herbert, John Saul, Edgar Allan Poe, Blake Crouch, J.A. Konrath, Jonathan Maberry, Peter Straub, Brian Keene, ghosts, Stoker Award finalist, Adam Nevill, Sarah Pinborough, Paul Tremblay

The Family Next Door

The Family Next Door

Books

America's next favorite Australian author!"With jaw-dropping discoveries and realistic consequences, this novel is not to be missed. Perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies." —Library Journal, starred reviewSmall, perfect towns often hold the deepest secrets.From the outside, Essie’s life looks idyllic: a loving husband, a beautiful house in a good neighborhood, and a nearby mother who dotes on her grandchildren. But few of Essie’s friends know her secret shame: that in a moment of maternal despair, she once walked away from her newborn, asleep in her carriage in a park. Disaster was avoided and Essie got better, but she still fears what lurks inside her, even as her daughter gets older and she has a second baby. When a new woman named Isabelle moves in next door to Essie, she is an immediate object of curiosity in the neighborhood. Why single, when everyone else is married with children? Why renting, when everyone else owns? What mysterious job does she have? And why is she so fascinated with Essie? As the two women grow closer and Essie’s friends voice their disapproval, it starts to become clear that Isabelle’s choice of neighborhood was no accident. And that her presence threatens to bring shocking secrets to light. The Family Next Door is Sally Hepworth at her very best: at once a deeply moving portrait of family drama and a compelling suburban mystery that will keep you hooked until the very last page.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Books

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick "Beautifully written and incredibly funny, Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is about the importance of friendship and human connection. I fell in love with Eleanor, an eccentric and regimented loner whose life beautifully unfolds after a chance encounter with a stranger; I think you will fall in love, too!" --Reese Witherspoon No one's ever told Eleanor that life should be better than fine. Meet Eleanor Oliphant: She struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she's thinking. Nothing is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding social interactions, where weekends are punctuated by frozen pizza, vodka, and phone chats with Mummy. But everything changes when Eleanor meets Raymond, the bumbling and deeply unhygienic IT guy from her office. When she and Raymond together save Sammy, an elderly gentleman who has fallen on the sidewalk, the three become the kinds of friends who rescue one another from the lives of isolation they have each been living. And it is Raymond's big heart that will ultimately help Eleanor find the way to repair her own profoundly damaged one. Soon to be a major motion picture produced by Reese Witherspoon, Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is the smart, warm, and uplifting story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine whose deadpan weirdness and unconscious wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes. . . The only way to survive is to open your heart.

A Nearly Normal Family

A Nearly Normal Family

Books

The worldwide bestseller, over half a million copies sold.'A deceptive and riveting novel' – Karin SlaughterHow far would a parent go to protect their daughter?One night, eighteen-year-old Stella comes home late. The next morning she is accused of murder.As parents Michael and Ulrika deal with the fallout and try to protect their daughter, they must search out the truth – but how much do they really know about their daughter? A Nearly Normal Family is the stunning psychological thriller from M. T. Edvardsson, which asks what would a parent do if their child was suspected of murder, and just how far they’d go to protect them. Told from three viewpoints – father, mother and daughter – but who is telling the truth? Perfect for fans of A. J. Finn’s The Woman in the Window or J. P. Delaney’s The Girl Before.Praise for A Nearly Normal Family:'An absolutely fantastic read' – Jo Spain'An utterly compelling premise . . . a layered, intelligent novel' – Fiona Cummins'A canny, intensely suspenseful legal thriller' – Scott Turow'I couldn't go to bed until I finished it. Effortlessly brilliant' – Sandie Jones'I couldn't put it down' – Michelle Frances'An unsettling page turner. Highly Recommended' – Adam Hamdy

After the Fire

After the Fire

Books

In her stunning new novel, New York Times bestselling author Belva Plain has written a compelling story of family and fortune, beauty and betrayal. With unerring insight and emotional power, she penetrates a shattered marriage to explore one of the most provocative issues of our time.What happens when the picture-perfect marriage dissolves? In her unsparing evocation of a family in crisis, Belva Plain goes to the heart of a marriage between a naïve young artist and her handsome physician husband. At first everything is idyllic. Then one terrible night she commits an act she will regret for the rest of her life. An act that gives her husband the ultimate weapon: blackmail. The price of his silence is uncontested custody of their two children.When her own beautiful, angry mother wants to know why she won't fight for custody, she can give no answers. For she alone knows, or believes she knows, what really happened on that fateful night.In a novel that is both provocative and heartbreaking, Belva Plain proves herself the writer who sets the standard for family stories, a novelist of incomparable depth and grace.

Scroll to top