Thomas's profile image

Romance Novels

5 Books | by Thomas Tompkins

Here are just a few of my favorite novels to read on a nice summer night.

Take Me There

Take Me There

Books

Seventeen-year-old Dylan Dawson is trying to pull his life together after his release from juvenile hall. But going straight isn’t easy, and Dylan just can’t seem to keep out of trouble. His problems escalate fast, and soon he has no choice but to hit the road, even though it means leaving behind the girl of his dreams. He heads south for Texas, on the run and in search of his father. (Dylan has no idea how his life became such a mess, but he knows that his dad is at the root of it.) When Dylan finds him, he certainly gets answers—but they’re answers to questions he wishes he’d never asked.

P.S. I Still Love You

P.S. I Still Love You

Books

Now a Netflix original movie starring Lana Condor and Noah Centineo! In this highly anticipated sequel to the “lovely, lighthearted” (School Library Journal) New York Times bestselling To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Lara Jean still has letters to write and even more to lose when it comes to love.Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once? In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

Kiss Me

Kiss Me

Books

Keatyn has always written scripts for her perfect life, but there’s no way she could have ever scripted this. Her life is so far from perfect that it’s not even funny—all because of a stalker. Now, she’s at a boarding school, where she has to lie about who she is. She can’t see her family or Brooklyn. She’s tutoring a hottie god who tortures her with his smile. And the most popular girl already hates her. But there’s this boy. This sweet, adorable East Coast boy who likes Keatyn for who she is. So she decides to stop scripting her life and just live it. Because who knows how long she has left. Keatyn Chronicles Kiss, Keatyn Chronicles Love, Keatyn Chronicles Sex, Keatyn Chronicles Series, Keatyn Chronicles Love, Keatyn Chronicles Kisses, Teen and Young Adult, They Lived Happily Ever After, Happily Ever After Book, Happily Ever After, Keatyn Chronicles Love, Jillian Dodd Keatyn Chronicles, Jillian Dodd Keatyn Chronicles, Keatyn Chronicles, Keatyn Chronicles Sex, Captive Films, YA Romance in High School, High School Crush Romance, High School Romance with Sex, High School Romance, Private School Books, Jillian Dodd Captive Films, Captive Films Jillian Dodd, Magic Kiss Chronicles, Jillian Dodd Sex, High School Drama Books, Prep School, Boarding School, Preppy Kids, Boy Best Friends, Sagas, Love Triangles, High School Drama, Movie Stars, Surfer Boy, Beach Romance, Young Adult Romance Novels, Coming of Age Romance, Teen Drama, Instant Love, High School Romance Books, A Privileged Life, Stalk Me the Keatyn Chronicles, Jillian Dodd Keatyn Chronicles, Hollywood Life, Romance, Love Triangle, Friendship Books, Teen Romance, Triangle of Love, Romance and Sex, Sweet Romance, New Adult, Upper Class, Love Triangles, New Adult, High School, Boarding School, Emotional Journey, Female Protagonist, Rich, Wealthy, Young Adult fiction Books, Series, USA Today, USA Today Bestseller, Romance Series, Romance Books, Hot Guy, Love, Love Books, Kissing Books, Long Series, Long Romance Series, Swoon, Loyalty, Rich, Serial, Story, Stories, Love Story, Romance Love

A Matter of Heart

A Matter of Heart

Books

"A novel that will make your heart pound--anxiously, joyfully, triumphantly."--New York Times Bestselling Author, Lauren Myracle. Readers will happily sink into this emotionally grounded, contemporary young adult novel about the sudden end of one girl’s Olympic swimming dreams and the struggles she endures before realizing there are many things that define who we are. Sixteen-year-old Abby Lipman is on track to win the state swim championships and qualify for the Olympic trials when a fainting incident at a swim meet leads to the diagnosis of a deadly heart condition. Now Abby is forced to discover who she is without the one thing that’s defined her entire life. Praise for A Matter of Heart: "This engaging and fast-paced read expertly paints the world of high-school sports and the single-minded focus and commitment that some high-school athletes can have."--Booklist Dominy's excellent use of dialogue firmly grounds the novel in contemporary times. The setting thrives on details, showcasing excellent research. . . . This is recommended for Chris Lynch fans, swimming fans, and anyone interested in warning teens about the dangers of HCM.--VOYA "This is a solid look at an elite athlete who gets benched . . . An enjoyable read even for couch potatoes."--Kirkus "More than a sports novel, this book delves deep into issues of identity—how we identify ourselves separately from what we do well—and the importance of support systems while making life-altering decisions. Give this to fans of Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s “Dairy Queen” series"--School Library Journal From the Hardcover edition.

Pieces of Why

Pieces of Why

Books

From the award winning author of Fat Kid Rules the World and The Liberation of Gabriel King comes a lyrical, middle grade gem that asks all the hard questions and hits all the right notes--perfect for fans of Cynthia Rylant and Mockingbird by Kathryn ErskineTia lives with her mom in a high-risk neighborhood in New Orleans and loves singing gospel in the Rainbow Choir with Keisha, her boisterous and assertive best friend. Tia's dream is to change the world with her voice; and by all accounts, she might be talented enough. But when a shooting happens in her neighborhood and she learns the truth about the crime that sent her father to prison years ago, Tia finds she can't sing anymore. The loss prompts her to start asking the people in her community hard questions--questions everyone has always been too afraid to ask.Full of humanity, Pieces of Why is a timely story that addresses grief, healing, and forgiveness, told through the eyes of a gifted girl who hears rhythm and song everywhere in her life.

Scroll to top