Mackenzie's profile image

Similar to Sara j mass

5 Books | by Mackenzie

The Last Lumenian

The Last Lumenian

Books

"The story transports the reader to a world of wonder. Who is trustworthy and who lurks in the corners of deception?..." - Elizabeth Payumo, ★★★★★"This was a great quarantine book! It was the perfect escape during such a stressful year." - C.A., ★★★★★Most princesses need saving. This one will save you.Lilla's life is not what she imagined it to be. Her mother's death causes her father--the king--to lose touch with reality, even taking a much younger bride. And now everyone is paying the price.Lilla finds comfort only in her best friend Glenna, a servant, and Arrov, a handsome pilot and fellow rebel. But the arrival of Callum--a powerful Teryn general--complicates Lilla's life. His undeniable presence leads to conflicted feelings and friction with Arrov.Meddling gods, love interests and sudden magical abilities have no room in Lilla's world, but they have become her new reality. The harder she pushes them away, the more they seek to control her.And now the Era War between two ruling archgods forces Lilla to act: accept who she really is, magic and all; find true love; fulfill her destiny by defeating the Archgod of Chaos and Destruction before He finds her. The Last Lumenian.

The Cerulean

The Cerulean

Books

From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing (The Jewel) comes the exciting first book in a new fantasy duology. Rich, vivid world-building and ethereal magic combine in an epic tale that’s perfect for fans of Snow Like Ashes, These Broken Stars, or Magonia.Sera Lighthaven has always felt as if she didn’t quite belong among her people, the Cerulean, who live in the City Above the Sky. She is curious about everything—especially the planet that her City is magically tethered to—and can’t stop questioning things. Sera has always longed for the day when the tether will finally break and the Cerulean can move to a new planet.But when Sera is chosen as the sacrifice to break the tether, she feels betrayed by everything in which she’d been taught to trust. In order to save her City, Sera must end her own life.But something goes wrong, and Sera survives, ending up on the planet below in a country called Kaolin. Sera has heard tales about the dangerous humans who live here, and she quickly learns that these dangers were not just stories.Meanwhile, back in the City, all is not what it seems, and the life of every Cerulean may be in danger if Sera is not able to find a way home.

City of Strife

City of Strife

Books

Isandor, City of Spires. Bickering merchant families vie for power through eccentric shows of wealth and brutal trading wars. Unspoken rules regulate their battles, but when an idealistic elven lord provokes the powerful Myrian Empire, all bets are off. They are outsiders, unbound by local customs, and no one knows how far they'll take their magic to dominate the city. Nobles and commoners alike must fight to preserve their home, even if the struggle shatters friendships, destroys alliances, and changes them irrevocably.City of Strife is the first installment of the City of Spires trilogy, a multi-layered political fantasy led by an all LGBTQIAP+ cast. Fans of complex storylines criss-crossing one another, strong friendships and found families will find everything they need within these pages.

Sabriel

Sabriel

Books

Game of Thrones fans will love the New York Times bestselling Abhorsen series. Sabriel, the first installment in the trilogy, launched critically acclaimed author Garth Nix onto the fantasy scene as a rising star.Dark Secrets, Deep Love, and Dangerous MagicSent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him. She soon finds companions in Mogget, a cat whose aloof manner barely conceals its malevolent spirit, and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage long imprisoned by magic, now free in body but still trapped by painful memories.As the three travel deep into the Old Kingdom, threats mount on all sides. And every step brings them closer to a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death—and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own destiny.“Sabriel is a winner, a fantasy that reads like realism. Here is a world with the same solidity and four-dimensional authority as our own, created with invention, clarity and intelligence.” —Philip Pullman, author of His Dark Materials trilogy

Cinders & Salt

Cinders & Salt

Books

Do not go gentle into that ghouled night.Valentine IX, orphaned son of Britannia and state-sanctioned executioner, sits in an Anatolian cell accused of a murder he did not commit. While such accommodations are hardly unfamiliar to the man he has become, this time is different. This time, Valentine is charged with the slaughter of a Germani princess a mere week before she was to be wed. And so-armed with nothing but pen and parchment, and filled with a nagging sense of duty-it is up to Valentine to set the record straight.Thus begins the swan song of Valentine the Butcher, a tale of intrigue and betrayal set against the backdrop of an otherworldly metropolis on the fringes of a sprawling empire teeming with gravity-defying skyships, infernal monsters, systemic greed, and draconian double-agents. And it is here, amidst society's seedy underbelly, that Valentine first encounters the foul curse that started it all-a plague known only to myth, tied to a legend that may never die.In a world where naked flame is outlawed and monsters are common as cattle, the fate of humanity will hinge upon the ink-stained ramblings of an avowed arsonist. But you know what they say...Ignis aurum probat.Fire tests gold.If you like Jim Butcher, Shayne Silvers, Kevin Hearne, Steve McHugh, Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, Shannon Mayer, or K.F. Breene, you won't be able to put down the highly addictive Echoes of Ventlight.Available in digital and print formats.

Scroll to top