Likewise's profile image

9 Books to Read If You Loved 'Squid Game'

5 Books | by Likewise User verified icon

People face off for riches, status, and their lives in these dystopian reads.

Battle Royale

Battle Royale

Books

The cult Japanese bestselling phenomenon! Koushun Takami's notorious high-octane thriller is based on an irresistible premise: a class of 42 junior high school students are taken to a deserted island where, as part of a ruthless authoritarian program, they are electronically collared, provided with weapons of varying potency, and sent out onto the island. If they are in the wrong part of the island at the wrong time, their collars will explode. If they band together to save themselves a collar will explode at random. If they try to escape from the island, they will be blown up. Their only chance for survival lies in killing their classmates. Criticized as violent exploitation when first published in Japan - where it then proceeded to become a runaway bestseller - BATTLE ROYALE is a Lord of the Flies for the 21st century, and a potent story of politics and survival in a dog-eat-dog world. Made into a controversial hit movie of the same name, BATTLE ROYALE is already a contemporary Japanese pulp classic, and is now available for the first time to the UK mainstream.

Arena

Arena

Books

Now in trade paperback, the "thrilling" (New York Times bestselling author Jason M. Hough) near-future science fiction debut about the action-packed world of competitive gaming... Every week, Kali Ling fights to the death on national TV. She's died hundreds of times. And it never gets easier... The RAGE tournaments--the Virtual Gaming League's elite competition where the best gamers in the world compete in a fight to the digital death. Every kill is broadcast to millions. Every player leads a life of ultimate fame, responsible only for entertaining the masses. And though their weapons and armor are digital, the pain is real. Chosen to be the first female captain in RAGE tournament history, Kali Ling is at the top of the world--until one of her teammates overdoses. Now she's stuck trying to work with a hostile new teammate who's far more distracting than he should be. Between internal tensions and external pressures, Kali is on the brink of breaking. To change her life, she'll need to change the game. And the only way to revolutionize an industry as shadowy as the VGL is to fight from the inside...

Juni Taisen: Zodiac War

Juni Taisen: Zodiac War

Books

Rampage. Weep. Kill. Every 12 years, the 12 signs of the Chinese zodiac take the form of warriors and engage in the ultimate battle royal. They face one another in battles to the death, using all the powers of their star signs, and the sole survivor is granted the ultimate prize—a wish. Any wish. -- VIZ Media

Scythe

Scythe

Books

A Time Best YA Book of All Time (2021) Two teens must learn the “art of killing” in this Printz Honor–winning book, the first in a chilling new series from Neal Shusterman, author of the New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology.A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery: humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now Scythes are the only ones who can end life—and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control. Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe—a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own. Scythe is the first novel of a thrilling new series by National Book Award–winning author Neal Shusterman in which Citra and Rowan learn that a perfect world comes only with a heavy price.

The Six

The Six

Books

A slow-burn psychological thriller with a dash of Dan Brown adventure and the dark chills of a Dean Koontz horrorEvie is in the grip of a gambling addiction. She's terrified she'll destroy the lives of her husband and two small daughters, especially with her rising debt. She grabs onto a lifeline - the offer of a program that promises to heal addictions and give her a fresh start.There are six days and six challenges on the path to healing. Ten thousand dollars per challenge. Sixty thousand on completion. Enough to pay off debts and start anew.Evie and 27 others from around the world travel to a monastery on a tiny Greek island to begin the program.BUT WHO IS THE ONE WATCHING & WAITING BEHIND THE WALLS?Evie's husband Gray is gutted to find the note that Evie left behind. Why did she leave and where did she go? When Evie's car is found burned out in woodland, the police suspect him of murdering Evie.Gray has one chance to fly to Greece to try to find Evie - before he's arrested for something he didn't do.Too late, Evie discovers the chilling truth about the monastery and the island. And the closer she gets to finding an escape, the closer the danger gets to her.PRAISE FOR 'THE SIX'"A fast-paced and thrilling plot, The Six is a breathtaking and intense ride, and is filled with twists and turns which kept my heart in my mouth!" Brenda Telford, Goodreads reviewer & librarian"This is a very clever and original plot with many surprises to keep you on the edge of your seat." Carolyn, Goodreads reviewer"It's a scary, creepy, twisty tale full of mind bending secrets around every corner and nothing is as it seems!" Li'l Owl, Goodreads reviewer"This book was beyond terrifying and yet the storyline sucked me in so completely that I would lose total track of time lost in a Greek island." Julie.A.Powell, Goodreads reviewer"At the end, I was shocked how it all tied together and how it ended for everyone. This is exactly how a psychological thriller should be done." Megan Miller, Goodreads reviewer"This book started off with some desperate addicts (spanning a large range of all different kinds of addictions) from all over the world being chosen to compete in six challenges. These take place at a monastery for a week on an island in Greece, all expenses paid and $10k prize money for each challenge day to the winners. Sinister and mysterious people & events overshadow the pleasant surroundings, however, and the suspense didn't let up! Couldn't put it down!" Jessica George, Goodreads reviewer

Scroll to top